Congratulations to the 2018 Canadian Association for Theatre Research award winners and honourable mentions!

June 12, 2018 by Jules Phillips

Join us in celebrating the many outstanding achievements from the Centre:

Lifetime Achievement Award

Recipient: CDTPS professor emeritus and past director (1978 – 1980)

Michael J. Sidnell

Michael J. Sidnell is a professor emeritus at the University of Toronto’s Centre for Drama, Theatre and Performance Studies. He has published and lectured extensively on Irish drama and poetry, as well as on drama and theatre theory, and has served on the editorial boards of a number of journals including Canadian Forum and Modern Drama. His books include Dances of Death: The Group Theatre of London in the Thirties (1984) and a multi-volume Sources of Dramatic Theory, among other distinguished publications. He has also acted in or directed many stage productions at the Hart House Theatre, University of Toronto and elsewhere.


President’s Award for Distinguished Service

Recipient: CDTPS professor and past director (2007 – 2016)

Stephen Johnson

Stephen Johnson served as CDTPS director for nine years and is a past-president of the Canadian Association for Theatre Research / Association canadienne de la recherche théâtrale. He has published widely on 19th and 20th century popular performance, including in Theatre Research in Canada, which he (co)edited for ten years. He is principal investigator of Canada West: Performance Culture in Southern Ontario and was recently awarded two SSHRC grants for Gatherings: Archival and Oral Histories of Canadian Performance, a database, on-line gallery, and oral history pilot project, and A Study of the Petitions to Censor Jim Crow in Toronto, 1840-1843, an exploration of popular performance, theatre licensing, and race relations in pre-Confederation ‘Canada West.’ 


Ann Saddlemyer Award/ Le prix Ann Saddlemyer

Honourable mention: CDTPS professor

Barry Freeman

Staging Strangers: Theatre and Global Ethics (McGill-Queen’s UP, 2017)


Heather McCallum Scholarship/ La bourse Heather McCallum

Recipient: CDTPS alumna

Laine Newman

“‘A Spark of Freedom’: Archiving and Activating Intergenerational Trauma Through Creative Practice”


Richard Plant Award/ Le prix Richard Plant

Recipient: CDTPS alumna

Alexandra (Sasha) Kovacs

“Beyond Shame and Blame in Pauline Johnson’s Performance Histories”


CATR Grant

Recipients: CDTPS PhD students

Kelsey Jacobson, Scott Mealey, Jenny Salisbury, and Cassandra Silver

for their work with the Centre for Spectatorship and Audience Research.


Congratulations to the extraordinary organizers, presenters, and committee members on an outstanding conference! 

View all 2018 awards and recipients.